IEEE World Congress on Computational Intelligence (WCCI) 2020
19 - 24th July, 2020, Glasgow (UK)

Special Session on "Artificial Immune Systems" at the 2020 IEEE Congress on Evolutionary Computation (IEEE CEC 2020)


The biological immune system is a powerful defense system that protects an organism itself from diseases and danger. The biological immune system is a kind of complex, adaptive, dynamic and distributive systems with abilities of learning, memory, self-organization, feature extraction and pattern recognition.

The Artificial Immune System, also known as Immune Computation, is a relatively new branch in the computational intelligence community, which is inspired by the structure, functions, models and information processing mechanism of biological immune system. The Artificial Immune System is a fast developing research area. Nowadays, the scope of this research area ranges from modeling to simulation of the biological immune system, to the development of novel engineering solutions to complex problems.

This special session aims to focus on the state-of-the-art research on immune-inspired algorithms and the new conceptual models for understanding the dynamics that underlie the immune system.

This special session is supported by the IEEE CIS ECTC Task Force on Artificial Immune Systems.

Topics of Interest

Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:


Papers for IEEE WCCI 2020 should be submitted electronically through the Congress website at, and will be refereed by experts in the fields and ranked based on the criteria of originality, significance, quality and clarity. To submit your papers to the special session, please select this Special Session name in the Main Research topic.

All accepted papers will be published in the IEEE WCCI 2020 electronic proceedings, and included in the IEEE Xplore digital library. For more submission information, please visit:

Important Dates

Paper Submission: January 15, 2020
Notification of Acceptance: March 15, 2019
Camera-Ready Submission: April 15, 2019


Wenjian Luo
University of Science and Technology of China, China

Mario Pavone
University of Catania, Italy

Yong Wang
Central South University, China