Principal Investigator

Shu-Hong Yu (俞书宏)

Professor of Chemistry

Academician of Chinese Academy of Sciences

Department of Chemistry, University of Science and Technology of China

Hefei National Laboratory for Physical Sciences at Microscale

Hefei, 230026, P. R. China

Tel: 86-551-63603040

Fax: 86-551-63603040



     Shu-Hong Yu studied chemistry in Hefei University of Technology and received BS in 1988. He got MS from Shanghai Research Institute of Chemical Industry (SRICI) in 1991. He completed PhD in Inorganic Chemistry in 1998 from University of Science and Technology of China (USTC). From 1999 to 2001, he worked in Materials and Structures Laboratory, Tokyo Institute of Technology (TIT), as a Research Postdoctoral Fellow, working with Prof. Masahiro Yoshimura. He was awarded the AvH (Alexander von Humboldt Foundation) Fellowship (2001-2002) in the Max Planck Institute of Colloids and Interfaces, Germany, working with Prof. Dr. Markus Antonietti and Prof. Dr. Helmut Cölfen. He was appointed as a full professor in 2002 and the Cheung Kong Professorship in 2006 by the Ministry of Education in the Department of Chemistry, University of Science and Technology of China (USTC). He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (2013-), is acting as a General Secretary and a Council member of the International Solvothermal Hydrothermal Association (ISHA) (2010-). Currently, he is leading the Division of Nanomaterials & Chemistry, Hefei National Laboratory for Physical Sciences at Microscale, USTC. He was appointed as Group Leader of the Partner Group of the Max Planck Society and the Chinese Academy of Sciences, USTC, from 2005 to 2009. He was elected as an academician of Chinese Academy of Sciences in 2019.


    His research interests include bio-inspired synthesis of nanoscale building blocks, self-assembly and macroscopic assemblies, nanocomposites, and their functions and applications. He has authored and co-authored more than 430 refereed journal publications published in Science, Nature Mat., Nature Nanotechnol., Science Adv., Nature Commun., Chem. Rev., Acc. Chem. Res., Chem. Soc. Rev., Angew. Chem. Int. Ed., J. Am. Chem. Soc., Adv. Mater. etc. (citations 53,319 H index= 129,  named as a Highly Cited Researcher by Thomson Reuters (ISI Web of Knowledge)), 17 invited book chapters, and 26 patents. He served as an associate editor for CrystEngComm (2011-2013) and Material Research Bulletin (2010-). He serves as the editorial advisory board members or the advisory board members of Accounts of Chemical Research, Chemistry of Materials, Matter, Nano Letters,Trends in Chemistry, Chemical Science, Materials Horizons, Nano Research, ACS Biomaterials Science & Engineering, Scientific Report, ChemNanoMat, CrystEngComm, Part. Part. Syst. Charact., Nano Convergence, ChemPlusChem, Crystals, Nano-Structures & Nano-Objects, Science Bulletin, Science China Materials, Current Nanoscience, Chinese Journal of Inorganic Chemistry, Chinese Chemistry, Chinese Chemical Letters, and C-Journal of Carbon Research. He serves as a Senior Editor for Langmuir since 2017,associate editor for Science China Materials since 2018, and associate editor for EnergyChem since 2019. He also served as a Guest Editor for special issues of Adv. Mater. (one time), Adv. Funct. Mater. (one time), ChemCatChem (one time), CrystEngComm (one time)., J. Mater. Chem. C. (one time).

     His recent awards include the 2nd Prize of National Natural Science Award awarded by Chinese Government (2010, 2016), the Roy-Somiya Medal of the International Solvothermal and Hydrothermal Association (ISHA) (2010), Chem Soc Rev Emerging Investigator Award (2010), Awardee of the Young Innovation Award of the Chinese Chemical Society & BASF (Germany) (2008), Career Achievement Award (USTC Alumni Foundation) (2007), Awardee of the Outstanding Youth of Natural Science Foundation of China (NSFC) for Academic Excellence (2007), Awardee of the Award for National Outstanding Youth in Science and Technology (2007), The 1st Prize of Natural Science Award of Anhui Province (2006), Awardee of the Centurial Program of the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS) for Outstanding Research Performance (2006), First Research Prize of Fok Ying Tung Education Foundation (2004) etc.